Friday Fictioneers : Lightness,Visible

 

For Madison Woods‘ Friday 100 word photo-prompt(picture above)-flash-fiction challenge.

I sip my coffee and I’m almost sure Firdaus has poisoned it, it is bitter like drainwater but I drink it anyway – because it is morning and there’ll be a whole day for me to wither and fray before whatever alien salt he has thrown into the cup dissolves itself into my meager blood.

Our house is quiet, the outside garden and its drooping trees stay modest and dim as the sky has shed its everyday blue – instead a strip of wild neon has broken free! Firdaus would stay underwater all day to avoid its colors, but I coax him to tolerate it. I take his hand, which feels familiar in its coldness, and we both walk out to greet the day – it has survived the tyranny of a routine and unflinching night, and so will we.

