Friday Fictioneers: Around the bends

For Madison Woods‘ Friday 100 word photo-prompt(picture above)-flash-fiction challenge.

“Mamaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!” my voice echoed throughout the forest sending birds flying from a tree close by.

My mother ran over to me, with an expression that I now recognize as holding a smile back.

“It’s okay love, it’s just a dragonfly,” she said kissing the spot on my arm the little winged creature sat on briefly before I combusted into a scream.

My grandfather sat on a huge rock across the stream, hat in his hand and a warm expression on his face looking on.

It was just three of us that day, walking through the woods.

We picked up and moved on our journey, with the sun shining through the trees.

That was the last I remember of my mother. I was eight and she 30. She never made it past 32. God needed her, grandpa said.

Now it’s just two of us, and I am not scared of much anymore.



