Sunday Ramblings: The Birds and the Bee Gees

In between the Bee Gees and an existential crisis sits a fat fat woman, too big for her chair. Her buttocks overflows, both sides spilling out of the chair and sagging downwards. She leans back in the chair her fat spilling out through the spaces. The chair creaks, fragile and she looks around, pale faced. She stares out looking to the left, and then to the right and sighs. She slowly lifts her right hand to adjust her crooked spectacles. Upon succeeding she smiles, and then stops as soon as she hears the crack, and the wooden chair, that could no longer hold her weight crumbles beneath her and she drops, with a loud thud onto the wooden pieces beneath her. And she wondered, what is the point of getting up. Really. The room closed in on her as she developed an unhealthy resentment for the wooden chair. It is the chair’s fault. She really likes sitting, but no chair would allow her to really. No chair. They all crumble underneath her.

Tragedy
When the feelings gone and you can’t go on
Its tragedy
When the morning cries and you don’t know why
Its hard to bear
With no-one to love you you’re
Goin nowhere
Tragedy
When you lose control and you got no soul
Its tragedy
When the morning cries and you don’t know why
Its hard to bear
With no-one to love you you’re
Goin nowhere

And in the next room, another fat lady gets up again and begins sawing the wood. She figured that if no one was gonna make her a chair that would fit, she would do it herself.

She did, and the good news is, in the meantime, while she was busy sawing and building fat chairs for fat people, she lost her fat. And she don’t need them fat chairs no more. She can sit in a regular chair now.

So she just sells the chairs to the fat people.

Yea, really.

What was I saying? Oh right.

I started a joke, which started the whole world crying,
But I didn’t see that the joke was on me, oh no.
I started to cry, which started the whole world laughing,
Oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was on me.

I looked at the skies, running my hands over my eyes,
And I fell out of bed, hurting my head from things that I’d said.

“So what made you stand up and make your own chair?” I asked her.

“Because someone laughed at me and said, make your own fucking chair!”

“Oh right.”

Then we sat down in those regular chairs and looked out those regular windows, at the regular things.

I wanted to look at her and tell her that I often get hit by waves and I do somersaults in the water involuntarily.

When I was small, and christmas trees were tall,
We used to love while others used to play.
Don’t ask me why, but time has passed us by,
Some one else moved in from far away.

Now we are tall, and christmas trees are small,
And you don’t ask the time of day.
But you and i, our love will never die,
But guess well cry come first of may.

The apple tree that grew for you and me,
I watched the apples falling one by one.

So we sat as I did involuntary somersaults to the Bee Gees staring at the ticking clock.

Wondering when will it ever stop.

And if before it does I would ever be able to pluck that fantabulous rocking chair out from my head and make it real.

Then she got up.

Come on now. Let’s get to it.

Nobody gets too much heaven no more
Its much harder to come by
Im waiting in line
Nobody gets too much love anymore
Its as high as a mountain
And harder to climb…

