You are what you eat

pepitas__by_senju_hime-d3k5lsu

Some time ago, a French lawyer and gastronome, Anthelme Brillat-Savarin, wrote: “Dis-moi ce que tu manges, je te dirai ce que tu es.”

Tell me what you eat and I will tell you what you are.

If I may be so bold as to add to it…

Tell me what you:
read
watch
listen to
take in
buy
spend your time on

… and I will tell you why your art is the way it is.

Put another way, a man reaps what he sows.

The places in which this applies are, for me, endless… food, actions, relationships, art, etc…

If we consistently eat unhealthily, it yields things like fatigue, weight gain and illness.

If we consistently spend our time doing nothing, we will always have nothing to show at the end of the day.

Art is no different.

are-what-you-eat-burger

If we feed on stimulants, stress, junk, a belief that our art is not important… then why are we surprised that we produce little good art?

I did not realise this for a long time. My art took a backseat to everything else: emotions, responsibilities, ‘urgent things’ , trying to forge a career path. Of course they were important things. And of course there were many days on which I created from a place of fullness and creativity, too.

But there were many, many days on which I wondered why my art was the way it was – dull, tired, confusing.

I didn’t realise that my creative heart-bank needed refueling more often. I didn’t think about the fact that my art comes from me, so of course my art would reflect what I was feeding on. If only I didn’t keep putting such an important part of my heart and well-being last!

Let’s stop thinking that art isn’t important (if in fact, it actually matters to you). Let’s stop starving our creative heart-banks.

It is time to eat well: we are what we eat.


Melanie Tan writes every day – for money and for love. More here.

