Learning to write

trapeze_artist

When I began to write, I was – consciously or not – setting out on a journey. To discover. To know. To wonder. To make sense of. To escape. To fly.

A few years later, I am beginning to see that what I thought of as the process is actually also the destination.

Sure, writing can bring clarity, results, understanding, escape. But there is no end point. No time in which I can exclaim, “yes! I am here! I have done all that a writer needs to do.” The more I write, the more the journey extends – in ways I could never have imagined. The more I discover, know, wonder, make sense of, escape, fly…… and the more I un-know, get muddled, get tangled up, and find myself on the ground again.

I would not have it any other way.


Melanie Tan writes every day – for money and for love. More here.

